Trying to replicate Unreal Engine's depth Fade node

This is my progress so far, but it has a limitations, I’m not able to consider the transparency of objects behind the surface., does anybody know if the

"getmessage("trace’…) "

can check the opacity of the hitpoint surface

4 Likes

Cool !

From what I recall you can’t retrieve much from a trace, IIRC object name, index and maybe a few other things but that’s about it…
At least I think it’s impossible to get a vertex color , a texture value or something along these lines.

OSL supports more, but not the blender implementation as some parts are still left as todo for a while …

But I just worked with OSL for a few months last year so I’m not an expert by far :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks Mate!,

I guess at the moment dealing with transparency of background objects is not possible. its so sad, I have been trying to achieve this for months and now that I have some success, there is another obstacle, well we can wait for new developments!

I’m not good at this but this document was posted by the blender developers and it says that getmessage() can retrieve shader parameters, by any chance could we get the transparency of the hit surface

added some refraction to the depth mask

4 Likes

Playing around with the Node

5 Likes

Hey ! First of congrats on your results , it looks pretty cool !!

The documentation you posted about is misleading, it’s from the OSL docs, and as I was saying latter, OSL can do that but current blender implementation doesn’t support it.

Basically in another software that supports OSL you might get better luck, in blender I’m not sure OSL was improved since it’s first introduction. Maybe OSL on GPU will bring back interest and this might be added.
While being able to do some raycast in the shader already opens a lot of possibilities, now if we can retrieve other data it really broaden the possibilities…

1 Like

Thank you so much,