Turning a space image to 3D

As a beginner, I would like to import a photo and convert it into a 3D landscape view using Python scripts. Can anyone provide guidance on how to achieve this?

My first uncharitable impulse, on reading your request, was to snort derisively, and to suggest that you “look for the Advanced settings in the Donut modfier”. As is well known, the Donut modifier instantly turns any simple cube into a completely finished Donut with Frosting and Sprinkles.

As someone who has struggled with blender for years, your request sounds suspiciously like “how do I get blender to do everything for me?”

But you said:

Please accept my humble apologies for thinking uncharitably.

(note: I’ve never modeled a space nebula scene before… so this post is only about techniques… this is not yet Art.)

To seriously try to answer your question, look at your photo.
There is a star-field in the background (blue, black, & white),
and a nebula in the foreground (yellows through browns).

There is no point in modeling the background in 3d. You just want a background image-plane of a star-field. If you want to rotate the viewpoint in all directions, you might want to project a star-field image (without nebula) onto the inside of a large sphere. You can either generate a star-field procedurally in shaders, or you can search for a space-photo of a star-field WITHOUT a nebula in the way to confuse the issue.

here’s a quick procedural star-field:

The nebula is what you should concentrate on bringing into 3d.
If you want to make exactly THAT nebula (EXACTLY), then I have to ask you: “Where do you suggest the 3rd dimension data is coming from?”
Far easier is to model something that “sort of looks like that nebula, or at least A nebula”.

How to model something that looks like A nebula?
Toss a giant cube into the middle of your modelling space. To this cube, add a material shader. For cloudy things, the general idea is