Tutorial on how to texture quoins and arches. Low-poly

We come from here: Apply different textures to wall corners? - #9 by carmanfer

Hello, I was having trouble applying a masked texture of some bricks while respecting the background texture and I didn’t find any tutorial on this matter in specific (maybe they exist idk).

Also I am no expert in texturing, this is just something that worked for me and wanted to show it.

First some images of the result I had following this method. As you can see there is continuation of the background texture (there isn’t any seam).

Respecting background texture:

Method description:
1- In GIMP or Photoshop, create the corner texture (or arch or whatever) that you want to use with a transparent background (or a solid background but with a mask instead of an alpha channel, whatever you prefer). Mine is a 1k trim sheet with alpha channel in which I have many combinations.

If anyone’s interested I made it by selecting stones from other textures, cropping them and placing them together as you see in the screenshot.

Edit: now I see that the bright/dark side of the stones is irregular in my trim sheet, some point left and some right, ideally, they would point towards the same side so that the normal map aims at the right direction. Or even better, there shouldn’t be any dark/bright side, like an albedo map.

2- In Blender, for the object that you have, create faces where this texture should go. In my case I had a window with an arch. As you can see I have faces surrounding the aperture of the window.

Also for the corners you should have dedicated faces:

3- Create two UV maps for this object. One will be the general UVs for the basic wall texture (from now onwards BasicUV) and the other for the details (corner texture) that have to overlap the basic textures (from now onwards DetailsUV)

4- Create a new material. You should have 2 materials: (edit: maybe this can be done with one material somehow???)