Ugly deforms: weight paint, modifiers or corrective shape key?

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to blender but I’m eager to learn how to use it correctly. My goal is to create a ballet dancer model.
My problem is the following: I have the mesh ready and added an armature with automatic weights. I checked how well the mesh deforms. I noticed that when the ballet dancer tiptoes, the heel part deforms really ugly (see attached screenshot). I tried to solve the issue with weight painting but this did not solve the problem completely… When i put the foot back into the resting position, the resting position looks ugly…

So here my question: How do you blender pro’s solve such ugly deforms? With modifiers (mesh deform or what ever) or corrective shape keys or can it be solved with weight painting only? Or with another technique?

What is the most reliable solution that is easy to learn for a beginner?

Thanks in advance!
stabio

Attachments

I wouldn’t say I’m a pro but options I’d consider are in order of what I’d try.

1. Make sure preserve volume is ticked in the armature.
  2. See if I can use the weight smooth option with it posed to see if it can deform nicer
  3. Play around a bit with the placement of your bones, see if you get a better result check wither you have the bone pivot point compared to where you want the mesh to deform.
  4. Try adding an extra deform bone parented but not connected off set so it takes a bit more weight and stops it collapsing.
  5. create low poly mesh deform cage specifically for maintaining the shape then weight paint that and bind your mesh to that (look at or use the blendring 5 example that works well)
  6. add shape key with driver on the angle between the bones to activate as the bones pivot (or just do it manually if you are only going to pose it)

I’m sure there are lots of other options as well!

would be easier if you could post the file to have a look at what is going on if you want a specific answer.