Ultra violet material?

Hello! I’m Marc, and this is the first time I write in the forum, although I have been solving many doubts here for a long time.
As I was saying, I have a question that I have not been able to find:

Do you know how I can make or emulate it, a material that is reactive to UV rays, like the corals of an aquarium? I attach a couple of photos.

I tried a search:

which led me to here:

hope that helps.

I asked about this a few years back. At the moment there is no easy way to do this - but I believe light linking will make it easier.

You’ll be able to make specific objects or specific materials reaction to just specific lights.

I believe this is coming to cycles soon.

Hi, I’m not that good with nodes/math but it looks like it works (the file at the link I posted).

I’m curious what is lacking in this file ( shader-fluo.blend )?

What it seems to be doing is simply mixing between a base material and an emissive material based on the position of a point light source (called “blacklight” in the scene).

This is a purely geometric relationship and not actually based on any sort of black light emission from the lamp, hence why it doesn’t work if you have intervening or blocking objects, shadows etc - there is no black light emission per-se.

You could in fact use any object or an empty as the “blacklight” and it have the same effect. Essentially the close your “black light” object is to your fluorescent object - the more of the emission material it mixes in.

I guess I misunderstood. I thought the OP was looking for something that looked like it was under a blacklight. After looking at the file I wasn’t sure that the math in the strength input was doing anything other than you mention. I guess the important thing in the way I’m looking at it is the colors.

Yes I think that’s what the OP is looking for - and this approach may work for them, but it is quite a rough cheat.