unbiased luxrender animation anyone ?

Hi all,

I’ve been thinking for couple of days to try and break the ice in producing an
animation using unbiased light transport.

I’ve seen various attempts in the past, usually a couple of seconds long and
very noisy, mere tests by people at home rendered in one night.

I believe it’s possible to render an animation of a couple of minutes with
acceptable quality at ~PAL resolution using a hacked version of LuxRender
i’m working on. (i’m a luxrender developer), and some help from some
of our members, as an initial test to evaluate maybe a second attempt at
a short film. (5-10 minutes, hopefully with some renderfarm help)

I’m pretty good with blender, but i don’t have any animation skills.
So if any of these attempt happen i’ll probably be asking some animators for help.

I would like to ask if anyone can ‘donate’ a fairly acceptable animation in
.blend file which i can rematerialize, relight and render, for the initial test.

Something between 30seconds, up to 2 minutes in length (@25FPS)

i’ll credit the author in the final rendered animation.

Thanks,
Radiance

Try to re-render a scene from elephants dream ;-p

hey,

i’ve though of that, but i’d like to do my initial test with something a little less large :wink:
i’m just trying to get a pipeline going with the engine and doing speed / noise tests for an animation.
i don’t have much time now to rematerialize those large & complex scenes…

i was hoping for a smaller project, a short small hobby-class character animation for example.

greetz,
radiance

There should be loads of shorts with mancandy around the forums, you could try one of those.

you could use Oppose Those Thumbs - amo it’s two files - one for each shot - and on the first shot you have to turn layers on a bit at a time otherwise both the scientist and the crab appear before they should. There is a python script to do this, though, which I should be able to get working… what do you think?