Understanding UV Mapping

Hello everybody!
I’ve been using Blender for a month now, I’ve read some of the threads here in the forum and it seems that UV Mapping is the best when texturing a complex model. I read the great tutorials by Modron and GreyBeard but I need more help on this area.

I’ve some questions for you, please don’t laugh as I’m new to this UV mapping thing and would like to know how it really works.

Ok now, from what understand about this process is that you unwrap the model selecting the different faces that encompass it, selecting each of the different vertices in the model.

After unwrapping the entire model you have to load an image in the UV Image Editor and map the texture to the model, specifying which part of the model will be textured with what part of the Image, ok?

Here’s my real question: Then what? I read at GreyBeard’s toturial that you can export the UV Face Layout, but then? What’s that layout for?

What’s the real use of an UV Testmap?

Thanks, hope you can help me! :slight_smile:

:smiley: Question is simple enough. After you get the UV layout exported you can use programs like GIMP or Photoshop to paint your customized textures. The UV Layout just provides an outline so you know how you should paint your textures. It basically unwraps the 3D model and makes all it’s surfaces into a 2D layout.

After painting your texture you can open it again in the UV window and if your layout is correct, the stuff you textured using that program will be displayed on your character.

GreyBeards tutorial is pretty cool. However, the upcoming 2.34 version of blender will have LSCM, making UV mapping a whole lot easier.

Hehe noticed I didn’t answer this question.

What’s the real use of an UV Testmap?

I guess it helps you when you paint the textures. It allows you to know what your painting and where it’s going onto the model.

Jason Lin

Also, helps you find any places where the texture will stretch.