uphill,ramps,incline character navigation

This is just driving me crazy to the point i don’t think its possible to set up a convincing method for your character to walk ( third person styled character) up a ramp. So after a couple days of wasted hours i figured I would ask the community for some help. I have no python knowledge. IF i did i’d see if you chould get the normal of the plane my character was in contact with and adapt the force vector so the velocity magnitude would be constant, but alas no knowledge.

I’ve searched around and played with the physics/material to a good extent. Issues stopping at the base of the ramp. Fix that by using forces, but not moving on the ramp is subject to friction resisting your motion or allowing you to slide back down the incline.

The subject title is such to hopelfully stear later people here incase a good method is proposed.

Thanks

i have the same problem and little python knowlege. I tried to disect Socials walkthrough demo for an alternative for DRot ( which i think is the problem) but i couldnt tell what motion setting he used. Maybe he will read this.

If you don’t mind, pass on a .blend and let’s see if we can’t get this solved.

here (the floor has no properties assigned , the character is set up to run the walk cycle with w, but no forward motion is being applied) Right click the cylinder around the character and apply the force/velocity/dloc to the cylinder , the character is parented to the cylinder)
https://mywebspace.wisc.edu/jgphillips/web/g_charpack.blend (right click save target as)

Pouncing @$$ action pose
delete the ground plane and make a new one something’s up with the one in the blend

Sorry, but I can’t download your file. I think it might be your school’s settings. Another host might help.

Heres a quick dirty example modified from a Sticky .blend

http://www.f-forge.com?d=UGRxVk5AYyMwhqupiLgQ

Just add animation.

fixed my file.

there’s a hidden bonus scene in the blend you attached quite funny