using Blender for gamedev

Hi there,
I’m an independent game developer and I have searched quite a long time for the right engine to go with. Blender seems like the real deal, I just have 3 questions:

• can you compile executable Windows files that don’t need Blender?
  • can you also compile executable Mac files?
  • are you allowed to sell your games without having to open the source?

Thank you, I really hope I can stop here and use Blender rather then looking for the next engine.

I wrote an article about exactly what you’re asking. I haven’t finished the whole article, but the answers for your questions are in there already. You can read it at my website (blendenzo.com). Here’s a direct link: How can I publish my game?

Edit: One thing that I forgot to include in the “Four Methods of Publishing” section is that you need to include the .dll’s with your distribution (SDL.dll, Python24.dll, etc.). You can find the .dll’s in the main Blender directory.

1 Like

Ah blendenzo, another burst of genius. Soon every answer in the BGE forum will include a link to your site.

Thank you :smiley:
It seems like Blender is the way to go, just don’t bundle the player and the .blender file in a exe but distribute them both right?
And as far as I understand it you can even lock your .blender file and make it secure. Would be all fine with me :cool:
Consider me the latest member of the blender community!

Yeah. That’s about it. Be aware, locking makes your file generally inaccessible, but there are even ways around that. (We try to keep that a secret around here, though ;)) There is currently no way to encrypt your .blend files with a custom key or anything. Of course, copyright gives you legal protection, and plagiarism and pirating are punishable by law, so to what degree is it really necessary to totally lock it all up? If people really want to steal, they will do it no matter what you do to stop them…