Using Boolean to Break Apart a Larger Model - Cutting Pieces from a Puzzle

Hello all! I’m new to Blender as of this week and I am learning it for a very cool project. As one of my final classes at university I will be casting in bronze a 30" x 24" model of the island of Ireland complete with natural wonders and ancient monuments.

To make the mold for the foundry I took mapping data of Ireland I am painstakingly drawing out the county lines. From there I’m using the boolean tool to break the larger model into individual counties for 3D printing.

Here’s what the current progress looks like:

To create the above I deleted the vertices off a cube and extruded it to form thousands of points tracing along the county lines. It’s slow but it works.

After that I delete the unnecessary lines to isolate (and enclose) a county as such:

Then use the boolean (intersect) tool to delete everything I don’t need:

From there it’s exported as a .OBJ, cleaned up, the exported as a .STL for Makerbot Print

The process works and I’m super happy with the results! However, sometimes the boolean tool behaves in a way I don’t expect and I cannot isolate a section. Here’s an example - this county of Ireland is isolated and closed off as I’ve done for all the others:

But, when using the boolean (intersect) tool it just leave the data in tandem with the cube:

Whereas boolean (union or difference) deletes the part I need:

What can I do to isolate selected sections for exporting?

This is a rather long first post so thank you for taking the time to read it. When the casting is finished I’ll post pictures of the final project!

Booleans can be unpredictable at times and you may have to mess around with its settings until something works.