Using variables/parameters as numeric values

I’m pretty new to Blender, but I have years of experience using parametric solid/surface modelers (solidworks and its kin). One of the fundamental features of parametric modelers is that wherever you can enter a number, you can enter a variable/parameter (or a function). Obviously Blender isn’t a parametric modeler, but it is very scriptable. Is there a way to set variable names and values and enter them into number fields? I’m assuming this is something that can be done using python, but it’s such a simple thing (programmatically) that I was wondering if there was a way to do it without scripting. Entering anything but a number into number fields gets rejected (the value returns to the last number), which I’m taking as a sign that this isn’t an inherent part of the software.

Here are some examples of where I think this would be useful (this might be superfluous information in which case ignore it):

1. Setting subdivision modifier values. When I’m working on a particular asset I’d set the “view” value to 3, but when it’s a large scene I’d like to be able to set all the “view” values in that model to 2 or 1. When doing a quick render with a lot of geometry I’d set the “render” value to 3, but when doing the final high-resolution render I’d like to modify it to 4.
  2. Emission strength values. It would be useful to select a group of emission surfaces and adjust their strength in one go. This is where function or math operation would be useful – like multiplying all the values by 2.
  3. Color hex values. Being able to change 1 single color within all the materials, including (and especially) the ones with complex node setups. This would allow you to setup a color palette and swap all the values to different color schemes very quickly. I’m guessing that since the node editor is so powerful this can already be done somehow though…