UV images not loading in UV editor, HELP!

SO this has been happening ALL THE TIME when I’m using Blender. I’ll make a texture in Photoshop, export it as either a png or jpeg, then go into blenders UV / Image Editor and load the image, and it wont appear in the viewport to map geometry to.

I dont understand it, I’ve been able to get it to work twice in all the times I’ve tried, its driving me CRAZY! I’m new to Blender so maybe I’m jsut making a newbie mistake. I figured someone here might be able to set me straight. If you have any ideas, please let me know, I have a project due in a week and this is SERIOUSLY killing my productivity.

I’ll be either embedding or linking to a video of what Im doing and what’s happening as soon as I finish typing this, so if you dont have any ideas yet please wai until its up.

EDIT: Video is here

Thanks.

I think you only need to add a UV map to the object. (Buttons window -> Editing context -> Button “New” where says “UV Texture”).

Before doing the projection and choosing the image.

I have been experiencing the same problem…at times the images show up…at others they dont…I am using 2.48 a…

In my case…deselecting everything in the objects edit mode and then reselecting the unwrapped faces one by one helped and the texture showed up in the image editor…hope it helps…

I’m not sure if what I think is what is going on in that case, but it may not be a bug, I think UV editor workflow may seem a little strange.

When you select an image in the UV/image editor Blender relates that image with the selected faces, to show them in the 3D view with “textured viewport shading”. If in Edit mode you make a selection that includes faces that don’t have an image related, or have different textures related, the UV editor doesn’t show any image. If you select face by face, the UV editor will show the image that is related to the last selected face.