Vector Blur cutting off half way through the image...

Hello all,

I’m just getting into using the compositor in Blender, love how it works, but for some reason I’m getting a problem with using the vector blur. Here’s what I’m doing:

1. Render out a MultiLayer openEXR file with all the passes that I want to tweak individually (diffuse, specular, shadow, AO, Reflection, Vector, z & combined). I’ve set up full sample anti-aliasing and using RGB, not RGBA.

2. After rendering out, I start a new blender file which will be used for compositing. I input the image sequence in the compositor, link up all the nodes appropriately to try and get a nice vector blurred motion, but the vector blur cuts off about half of the image.

Hooking up the speed to the final image confirms that, for some reason, even though alpha is turned off from the initial render out, half the image is cut off. Weirder again, if I hook up the alpha, it doesn’t quite match up to what it should.

Being new to the compositor, I’m not sure if it’s something I’m doing wrong, or if it’s a bug… I’m using the latest version of Blender, 2.57, which makes me doubt it’s a bug… I’ve tried looking into this myself, but am stumped. Just doesn’t make sense…

Any help with this would be a huuuge help. I’ve attached the files below:

oggi tomic ident.blend (692 KB)
oggi tomic ident composite.blend (493 KB)

Thanks,
Stephen.

My guess is it has something to do with the alpha channel. If you aren’t compositing it over anything, get rid of the alpha channel before applying the vector blur. (you could give it a dark backdrop before rendering the EXR sequence, if you want)

Why not do all the compositing together with the render? You could even use an output node in the compositor if you wanted to preserve the original, non-composite EXRs.

Hi benu, thanks for you quick reply. I’m not sure if it’s the alpha channel as I’ve been looking at the vector pass and it’s cut off at the same place (see vector colours below)