VFX artist , switching my workflow to full Blender, lot of questions

Hello there !

I am a VFX artist / Video Editor, I currently work on a Macbook running Adobe Premiere, Photoshop , After Effects and Cinema4D when I need to animate / render a 3D model into a scene (I don’t model myself).

I used both Windows and Mac OS while working on projects and I hate both of them, the OS I really like to use since ever is Ubuntu, that I had to stop using because no serious video programs where running on them.

A couple hours ago, I heard that blender (that I never used, maybe launched a few times 4 years ago, that’s it) now has video editing and compositing abilities, If I’m able to switch to Ubuntu and still work on heavy projects, that is awesome.

Here are my question :

• Coming from the regular Adobe Products to Full blender work from importing my video footage to adding a 3D model to the scene (with HDRI lightning) is it a hard transition? (I will have to learn node base compositing, but is there Blender specific things I need to know?)

• Is Blender really good at compositing / video editing?

• Does it support audio? Can I add some very basic audio effects (lower volume, doppler effect etc…)

Imagine a scene where I’m filming a chair, I want to animate a 3D model of a small character climbing the chair using HDRI lightning and having the character’s shadow casting on the chair I shot, is this kind of thing that I do all days using C4D + After Effects easy to do ?

What about Color Correction? Camera Mapping ? Chromakey? I saw a Youtube video of a guy doing chromakey in blender but it was only with a cube textured with the same green colour, in a real life situation the green screen behind the actor has a little bit of grain, it’s never the same “perfect” color.

Sorry about all these noob questions but I prefer to know before I dive into it, I don’t have a lot of free time on my hands.

Thanks !

Coming from the regular Adobe Products to Full blender w…