Viewport and rendered image not matching in EEVEE

Hello every one!

So… Why aren’t my shadows the same?

I’m a bit new to blender and following a lot of tutorials these days. I’m trying to have a 2D look using the shader to rgb in eevee and before tweaking all of my shaders and stuff I wanted to see if I could trust the viewport or not. Guess what it doesn’t give the same output…
So I wanted to know if I’m missing something, or not sampling something the right way or anything else. I have my viewport settings in simplify but not the render, can it make a difference like that?
I want the shadows to be sharp so I deactivated soft shadow (but even with it on the result is not the same). I’m “indoors” so maybe there’s something with that… (but there’s no mesh as windows). In the tutorials it’s always exactly the same on the first try haha…

Also when I move in the viewport the shadows kind of “moves around”. Like if my camera is closer there is no shadows and farther away a big one. In my mind since the lights and shaders are not moving the shadows shouldn’t but maybe the shader to rgb doesn’t really work like that? I don’t know haha I’m kind of lost honestly ^^

Thank you for any suggestions or pointers :smiley:

Welcome!

From your description, it sounds like you are relying mostly on contact shadows to do most of your shadowing.

Contact shadows aren’t meant to be used as the main source of shadow. They are a screen space effect, which means they depend on what’s visible on screen at any given time.

The main shadow system of Eevee doesn’t have this problem, but its pixellated nature means the shadows often don’t connect perfectly with the objects casting them, or miss very small features. Contact shadows exist to bridge that small gap, to get a little bit of detailed shadow right next to objects, but if you use them with a large distance, they get visibly glitchy.