Way to create better hands, feet, heads

Hey everyone,

I’m fairly new to blender. While I kind of start getting the hang of the software I’ve been struggling with fingers, toes, and the head. Is there a trick to learning to model these body parts?

Is it okay to use premade model hand, feet, and heads as model references?

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Josh

Hey Josh & welcome to the forum!

In order to make body parts such as hands, head, faces etc. you need to start to learn about a “Sculpting” in Blender. There’s a various video tutorials about that on YouTube. You can start by watching very simple ones like “how to make a low poly character” or “how to make a simple bunny”.

Sculpting, if in a few words, is a very huge topic to discuss about. There’s a lot of tricks, ways to how to do this or that. So all I can say is be patient and don’t give up.

There’s come official documentation about sculpting:

https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/sculpt_paint/sculpting/index.html

Me, I am not a professional at sculpting. Here you check out some of my sculpting works:
Bunny,
Penguin

It was kinda easy to make them.

Hope it helps you

Cheers!

1 Like

Sure - thats ok. You can also just attach them on your model and use them… Just like the professionals do.
A question - how will you know its a good model you are referencing ??? :man_shrugging:
Install DAZ and use those body parts. Or models from some other app. Do not grab freebies and expect them to be good.
Is there a trick? Practice, practice, practice. Study, study, study. Loops and quads.

Google topology reference. Or search those 2 words in this sites search tool.
There are many reference images on the web. Many of the good ones are probably here already.
Watch some retopology videos at 1/4 speed.

Aloha @Matakani,

You can do that? I was told you could! How do you do this? Will it work on feet too?

Josh

Thanks for the amazing advice @goorman i have never sculpted before

Josh

Ps love the bunny