Weight paint: Subtract adds paint + X mirror doesn't work properly

Hello there.

I’m currently working on rigging my character, but I have run into two problems that I hope I can get help with.
New user, so screen shots can be found here:

1. The Character
  2. The x mirror problem
  3. The Weight paint problem

Problem 1:
I’m fairly new to blender, so maybe I’m just being stupid and the fix is super simple. But, when I have x turned on to mirror the paint from the right side to the left side, all it does is add the paint on both sides to the bone on the right side.

Problem 2:
This is really a headscratcher for me. So the problem lies, when I try to weight paint the left leg, it seem to influence her shirt and holster straps, so I try to use the “Subtract” brush, but all it does is ADD weight painting to the shirt, the belt buckle and metal clamp(Or whatever those belt things are called), instead of subtract. Also, it doesn’t subtract from the boot around the bone as well.

If it helps, here is a quick progress of the character modeling:
First I made the body. From there I modeled the clothes, hair and facial features as separate meshes. Once everything had be modeled and textured, I saved the model as a separate file where all of the meshed had been joined into one mesh. (Except the pupils, eyelashes and eyebrows as I don’t know how rigging facial animation works yet, and the hair is also a separate mesh) Then I started adding the armature into bones around the mesh, naming them and using the feature “AutoName Left/Right” and “Symmetrize”
Now when I try to weight paint, I run into the problems mentioned above.

Hope you can help.

Problem 1: First of all, this is not a symmetrical model. Now, there may only be some elements that are symmetrical, but any levels of asymmetry suggests to me that, probably, other stuff is asymmetrical as well. (It is extraordinarily easy to end up with unnoticeable asymmetry.)