Weird mesh glitch

Hi All,

I’m new to Blender, and to this forum, and it’s gone 4 a.m., so forgive me if I’m posting in the wrong place and/or any of the following isn’t as clear as it might be …

Here’s the situation: I’ve imported a posed Collada from Makehuman to Blender 2.49b, added textures, etc, added a rig and parented the mesh to the rig. Throughout this process, everything seemed fine, but after parenting the rig, this happened:

(see attachments below)

There’s no picture, but they appear twisted like this in render as well.

While I was adding the armature to the feet they were fine, and I didn’t notice any problems when I duplicated and mirrored the completed (left side) armature, so I’m thinking that whatever caused the feet to get twisted around like this happened when I parented the mesh to the armature. That said, unparenting makes no difference; the feet look fine in Edit mode, but twisted everywhere else.

I’ve no idea what happened, or how to rectify it, so here I am. Any suggestions or solutions would really be appreciated …

Attachments

The bones of the armature are associated with the wrong vertex groups of the mesh. Select the armature and Ctrl+Tab into Pose Mode. Select the various bones to see what parts of the mesh are associated to what bones. Move/rotate the bones in Pose Mode to see if, for example, bones in the left foot are associated with vertices in the right foot.

When creating an armature in Blender, one usually (1) creates bones for the spine and head and then (2) enable X-axis mirror and Shift+E extrude bones for the arms and legs.