What book should i buy... if any

hey well as you all know the new version of the game engine came out so i was wondering what would be the best book to buy im not very experienced so i want a kinda begginers book but i dont want one that i read it then i will still wont know how to make games ect but my one worry was with the new game engine will the books be ok?

Fudge

as the current GE claims to be 225 compatible, you could go for the blender game kit. or you spend some time harvesting for good tutorials (there are lots of them) on the web.

marin

learning python
simple to follow even if your not a programmer

python reference
I cannot explain how usefull this book has been :slight_smile:

Hey snailrose, how much did those two books contribute to your learning of python that was applicable to the game engine? Granted that python was not developed solely for the purpose of Blender, there’s got to be stuff in there that are unneccesary or not used for the game engine. Can you just breifly tell me the the rough percentage of how usefull those two books are in terms of learning code that will be used in the game engine.

I’ve seen your tutorial and it’s great. Hmm, did you look through other online tutorials or did your knowledge of python come from practice and mainly those 2 books?

Ummm anyone know the difference between editions 1 and 2 of learning python?

Oh, I’ve also noticed another book on Amazon. Game Programming With Python (Game Development Series) http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1584502584/qid=1083641806/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1/103-9557175-7915048?v=glance&s=books
Any good?

Jason Lin

95% roughly

The learning python book I used mostly in learning the language its self
It teaches a lot of stuff that is useful in the game engine, but some sections really do not apply to game stuff
Overall “I” found it useful
The “python in a nutshell” is one of the best computer books that I have invested in lately.