What causes these spikes?

I have a smooth looking sculpt that I made mostly in dyntopo, going back and forth from edit mode to dynetopo sculpting. I used smooth brush and a mask-brush to smooth the back of the model. But when I look at it in edit mode, spikes have appeared where it used to look smooth.
What causes the spikes, and what is the quickest fix? My target is 3D printing this model at about 20cm size.

have you tried 2.81? It has a huge sculpting update and probably your issue is fixed there

1 Like

I only stick to major releases, I’m not good at troubleshooting or knowing what’s a bug or feature. I might get 2.81 just to solve this one project if there is no other way but I would still like to know if it’s a workflow issue / feature or a bug.

This usually happen around thin areas while smoothing, pinching and so on. It can be a pain in the butt and happens in many sculpting programs. Sometimes fixing this is pretty tedious, but I don’t sculpt a lot, so someone who does might have a solution or workflow suggestion that you can use.

1 Like

This kind of issues usually arise from a symmetric sculpting/smoothing over a not exactly symmetric mesh.
I could suggest a all-over smoothing with symmetry disabled.

1 Like

I tried turning on dyntopo, turning off symmetry, and smoothing again, but it still has the spikes when I go back into edit mode. I tried to smooth it with dyntopo off but the spikes remain. In sculpt mode, the spikes just are not visible.