What is a high poly model

Hi there all, im very new to the blender scene, i mean i just signed up here about 10 min ago lol.

So i was doing a search on different chariter softwear and the one guy was asking about Make human and if its cheating, and one guy said that to become good its best to know how to model chariters from scratch, know the basiccs and things.
Link : http://www.gamedev.net/topic/654919-using-makehumanis-it-cheating/

So i did some searching and alot of people are talking about low and high poly model.
Now my question is, what is that, because i am doing this one tutorial where you create a plane and what we did was create a very simple outer model and then added the Sub surface modifier, is that now making the object a high poly ? or is that still a low polly model because i can select my original vertices only.
Link : http://www.blenderguru.com/tutorials/how-to-make-an-airplane-part-12/

High polygon model is a model with medium/small size forms described with actual polygons, which may be used as is or used for transferring some of that detail as a texture on a lower polygon version.

Subdivision surface is a popular modeling technique for high polygon models because it allows to control high polygon counts with less vertices, and it’s adjustable.

So Thats a highly acceptable method of molding ? because i watched this guy create a character, (3 hour tutorial by the way :eek:) and he created a highly detailed structure, probably a medium model i think, if youd like the like i can provide it.

Thats what has been confusing me is that i watched half of his tutorial (3 hour one) and then saw another one about a week later and what the guy dose is create a very love poly base and then work on each section to increase details like the head, arms, hands and so on. is this a better method or should i create from the start detailed ?

p.s im using character reference because its a very hard thing to model, In my opinion.