What Most Effects Game Engine Performance

That’s my question. I typed this once but the forum assed out on me so plz forgive for bluntness now:)

I know that physics cost you a lot of performance. And I have stress tested my PC to run 22,000 polygons @ 60fps with materials and UV maps.

However I don’t know how much of an effect armatures and animation, and logic and scripting will have on it - seeing as I have not enough of these things to really test it out. There are other processes too, like referencing disperate scenes and resources that aren’t easy for me to test out right now. I’ve searched online and haven’t foudn any stats either.

In other words - having stress tested 22,000 polys I need to know whether or not animation could have a great affect on my overall poly count. I would hate to think I have 22,000 polys to work with when I only have 10,000.

If you can help shed some light on things, thank you.

Good question there mate :wink: Hmmm… Well I’m a newbie at the area, so I cant really help you out, but if I figure anything out I’ll let you know :slight_smile:

The polycount and texture size are the main things you need to keep an eye on IMO.

The logic and other processes are usually not the source of the “framerate funnel”. It’s almost always renderer oriented when talking about performance issues.

As for the “official” stats, I don’t think there is a bar set anywhere, since the BGE’s performace pretty much depends on your hardware, so it’s different for everybody.

I’m trying to use as few textures as possible as a matter of fact thanks

I think it would be interesting to take 30 objects and apply the same sensor to each of the 30 objects. Bench it and then try a new sensor and repeat then bump up the number of objects. Or similiary apply a (single armature to an object )X30 and then sensors and bench the two