What's a good way to have low poly follow shape changes on the high-poly? (hard surface)

I’m new to baking. If I make changes to the shape of the high-poly, is there some modifier or method to make it so that the low poly follows even though they have different mesh-data?

I’m doing hard-surface. The workflow I’m doing is that I first make the high poly, then merge stuff up and remove n-gons to make the low poly, and sometimes the shape changes on the low poly or vice-versa. If this workflow can be improved or changed let me know!

I don’t think shrinkwrap will work here, because it would deform the high poly too much (since it’s hard-surface), is there some way to make the high poly just “kind of” follow the low poly (or vice versa? if that’s better)

Hi,

Personally, I don’t think that’s possible anyway. I mean, if you have a high poly model and you wanna make the low poly from it, that’s fine. If it comes to textures, you simply need to bake them, if it comes to a model, well, you can use so-called Decimate modifier in such cases. Here’s a good short YT tutorial on how to do this:

Yes, as you have just mentioned it up above, you can do this manually by switching to the Edit Mode and remove those unnecessary vertices and all that, but it’ll be much easier with Decimate modifier.

As for your main question - as I’ve just said at the beginning, I don’t think that’s possible, and that is very simple if you ask “why?”. That’s because when you make a low poly from a high poly, of course, your shape won’t look the same, because, the fewer polygons you have - the more triangles you’ll see at the end of the day. Simple as that.

Hope that helps

Cheers,
Sergey

1 Like

Non destructively?! - yes.

Although an approach that implements proprietary tools rather than FOSS which by the way has been around for a few years:

However in my opinion replicating a similar workflow in Blender, maybe Chipp Walters work on Kit OPS I think is worth keeping in mind:

1 Like