When to use Photoshop, when Blender?!

Hi,

I really want to know, when (and for what purpose) you use Photoshop and when (and for what) you use Blender for post-processing and compositing.
I’m new to this stuff and would be happy, if somebody could explain me the pros and cons!
I don’t get the point, why you don’t do everything inside Photoshop ( or possible even inside Blender).

Thank you.

You uses what is faster. For example after a render I don’t like yet the contrast. Instead going to blender and change the lights strenghts it is faster going to gimp and change there the contrast of the image or adding some effect you like like a little blur or whatever.

But if you are rendering an animation it would be faster to do this postprocessing in blender, instead of loading in gimp the thousands of images to do the postprocessing.

I like photoshop, but also gimp and Corel Photopaint. Photopaint has some things like the divide blending mode that works amazing to remove a background. Also other things not related to 3D, like the conversion to black and white image where you can use many conversion types, why photoshop doesn’t have that I don’t understand.

There are a couple of advantages to doing things in Blender, to the point that I don’t do much final post-pro in Photoshop at all besides adding a signature on personal projects. (note that most of these are actually disadvantages of PS rather than advantages of Blender’s compositor per se, most of them apply to Nuke and After Effects as well as Blender).

-Blender dynamically links input files, Photoshop does not. You can sorta fake it in PS with smart objects and the Layer > Smart Object > Replace Contents command, but it’s a pain to do, especially when you have many layers.