When will simulation nodes be implemented into Blender?

I am no developer, but I have a question regarding simulation nodes. When are they going to be implemented? There are alpha builds, but I do not want to stuff up my works with unstable builds. I like to wait until things get more stable before trying, as it is not worth the risk.

They are in main for 3.6 alpha, so probably late June unless something drastically changes.

If you want to check them out you can always test out 3.6, but continue using your current stable version for your work. You arenā€™t limited to one build only on your system.

2 Likes

You can read the Monday meeting reports, theyā€™re very understandable. The team is working on caching and UI elements right now. First release will probably be pretty basic, theyā€™ll keep adding nodes and options in further releases.

Iā€™m curious to see when it can replace rigid body sims, which can be very unpredictable. But I also fear that sim nodes will be way more complex to master.

2 Likes

The initial release of simulation nodes was going to be in 3.5, but it got pushed back to 3.6. In theory it will make the final release of 3.6

Keep in mind, this first implementation is more a ā€˜motion graphicsā€™ type of simulation for geometry nodes. It wonā€™t work for Cloth or Hair in 3.6.

The earliest release that could have Cloth and Hair simulation nodes is Blender 4 at the end of the year. But even that is only a maybe at this stage.

1 Like

Nevertheless even with this version it is possible to do cloth-like simulations (although with a lot more effort); check Seanterelle at twitter.

For me one of most important things is when we can get nodes of nodes aka Compounds like in Softimage ICE.

1 Like