Where Is The [Make Parent> Connected, Keep Offset] Menu and Bone Selection Question

Hello all,

Although I have been using Blender professionally for many years, I am new to rigging in Blender. I am going through the Blender training DVD Humane Rigging by Nathan Vegdahl Chapter 2 (02b.webm). FYI, I am using Blender v2.65 and in the particular training video Nathan is using v2.60.

The Problems I am having:

First, I am unable to select any bone that I desire or multiple bones with Shift+select in Edit Mode in the 3D View. I am only able to select the currently selected bone that is already selected in the Outliner or that was previously selected in Object Mode. I can select any bone I want in the Outliner and I can Shift+select any bones in the Outliner but NOT in Edit Mode in the 3D View as Nathan is able to do. Why not? What am I missing?

Second, Nathan is able to select two bones in Edit Mode and then press Ctrl+P to bring up a menu that says “Make Parent” followed by the two menu options “Connected” and “Keep Offset”. What I get when I press Ctrl+P is an entirely different menu containing Object, Object (Keep Transform), Armature Deform (with sub-options) and Bone. Why can I not get to this same menu or find any way to get to this menu? Aside from extracting a new bone from another one at bone creation, how do I select two bones and make them connected into a bone chain (preferably with a hot key)?

Thanks to anyone who can help me figure this out.

First, I am unable to select any bone that I desire or multiple bones with Shift+select in Edit Mode in the 3D View. I am only able to select the currently selected bone that is already selected in the Outliner or that was previously selected in Object Mode. I can select any bone I want in the Outliner and I can Shift+select any bones in the Outliner but NOT in Edit Mode in the 3D View as Nathan is able to do. Why not? What am I missing?
Attach or post a link to your blend file.