Where to start?

Ok so, I think I can safely say that I am still new to modeling. I have messed a lot with materials, and some with physics and animation, but as for modeling, I really haven’t stretched very far. I think part of me has trouble coming up with what to model because I am so driven by photorealism that I want to do something that looks real nice, but is easy to model… and there isn’t a whole lot of that. For example I can make a cube on a plane and make it look really nice, well lit, and for the most part “real,” but it’s just a cube, and I didn’t exactly see any of those just sitting around today in the real world. Sometimes I look at a real world object, and think I want to model it, but then I quickly am turned away because I find some piece of it (like a curve or complex corner or joint) that I wouldn’t know how to deal with.

The extent of my modeling doesn’t stretch much outside of cube modeling or basic shapes like making a cup out of a circle. Everything that I make is VERY geometrical and just isn’t that exciting.

Sooooooo, I’m wondering where you all started with modeling. What are good things to practice with/guides to follow? I’ve done a lot of the 608 bearing guide. I’d like to learn a lot more about the uses of modifiers, working with curves, joining meshes in edit mode, etc.

Thanks!

Here’s one of the things I’ve modeled, note the lack of anything non-geometrical, the curves are pieces of circles.

Attachments

Well what are some things you find interesting ?
Fanstasy Creatures, Animals, A game character.
Maybe a friend of yours has done some original drawings that look interesting to model.

i would say for faces and heads poly by poly is the way to go and for entire things probably box modeling, all you do is make a boxy version then add subsurf then just keep on adding loopcuts and extrudes to make it detailed