Which Linux version?

I’m thinking about putting a Linux partition on my hard drive (presently an XP system). For the Linux users out there, which version would you recomend and what advise can you give to a Linux newbie?

Warren

for a total newbie to linux, I would suggest mandrake. easy to install, easy to configure, easy to learn… and once you get the hang of how things go in linux, you can easily move on to different distros.

in mandrake, they put much time on configuration and maintenance tools. lot of nice graphical interfaces everywhere…

and underneath all that nice graphical-stuff, there really is a normal linux :slight_smile: you get all the same stuff that other distros give.

mandrake is also “one of the big” distros out there. that means, lot of help available everywhere.

another choice could be the new redhat… in the new version, redhat has come down from server-like system to more home user desktop-style… and in my opinion, they did a very good job. you have special tools like in mandrake, but you still get the chance on configuring everything by hand (in console) like you want, without a worry of setup tool overwriting your settings.

I’m using redhat. this is mainly because I’ve been using it since the beginning… so it’s “my distro”. I like the stability of it… and the logo guy with red hat is cool :slight_smile:

.b

oh, and the advise I wanted to give you was:

once you have installed it, and first try it out, remember:
it is not windows. it’s not supposed to act or look like windows.

.b

I have a preference for RedHat, very easy to install with lots of features, and most software has been formated to the rpm installer so it’s really easy to install new software.

I also recommend Mandrake. Out of the 3 distros I’ve tried (RedHat, SuSE, Mandrake), I like Mandrake the best. It is the easiest to work with. It also uses the RPM system.