White Worlds

Ok, weird newb question here…

I am attempting to render some models and am going for the unsurfaced model on a white floor, in a white world, look…with shadows.

I am just having problems getting the all white world to look right, I tried setting up two planes, one floor and one wall, but I can see the joint where they meet, and the back wall is very dark cuz my light isn’t reaching back there and I don’t really want a back wall…just an infinite white floor, well lit, in an infinite white universe, am I making any sense?

I am very new to blender, and have little 3d experience…but I am stoked to find such a great community built around such a great product.

Many thanks, look forward to posting some of my work and continuing to be awed and inspired by you guys…

So, basically, you want a white scene kind of like the Matrix load up program? If so, there are two suggestions. In the materials, which I assume that you have turned white, you can hit the button that says shadeless. Your walls will now be the exact color that you make them, uniformly, and are not affected by light. However, unless you need a floor for reference, I would just make the world white. To do this, go to the material settings, then click the little world, globe button. Then just move all of the sliders making blue, over to 1.0 for white. If you have more questions, or this isn’t realy what you meant, feel free to describe in more detail what you want.

-Blazer

the floor you can keep if need be… just scale it up to where it goes to a point where it seems to reach that endless point… as for the walls… kill them… like affore mentioned… make the world setting itself white… as for the light being a problem… switch from general lamp to “Hemi” and that should get rid of most your problems… at least realy imply the overpowering whiteness of it all.

Try making a white world background, and give your floor plane a material with ‘only shadow’