Who is the most accessible 3d slicer program?

Well of course I hope that it will be also free. The reason why I want to ask is, is there any difference between slicer or it is somewhat the same? Especially for printing minis and stuff.
I saw a creator that used chitubox and wasn’t prepared when he had to create this web of support for their print. Well I am also a noob on 3d printing so I do not understand very well how things work.
Do I have to create support or separate the minis in many shapes and it won’t need to create support? IS there a software where I do not need to mind that kinda stuff?etc…

Thank you in advance

Cura is packed with features and has everything you could ever want or need, is easy to learn, is open source, has millions of users, many contributors, and is absolutely free. What more could you ask for…

When you say minis are you talking about Coopers?.. Skirts?..

2 Likes

I am pretty happy with the Prusa Slicer. I believe it is a fork of Slic3er which is open source:

1 Like

Okay. Both are wonderful. Cura is the most ubiquitous of them all.

1 Like

Note: I am not expert in 3D printing at all and it is just a hobby, so some things I say might be nonsense.

There are several ways.

• You can of course model your support yourself.
  • You can let the slicer create the support for you by either chosing a preset or by setting different kinds of parameters, such as overhang angle and things like that.
  • You can place primitives in the slicer to tell the slicer where it should calculate support and where not.

Well, the software is one thing. As mentioned above the slicer can calculate the supports for you. But it can be very tedious to get rid of the supports when the print is finished, so you want to have as little support as possible.
There are printers with multi heads which can print support in a different, water solvable material so you can simply wash off the supports with water.