Why can't I zoom in?

Hi,

I’m still fairly new to Blender and I have an issue with the middle mouse scroll-wheel zooming in and out. I’m working on a pretty complex tutorial and when I began I was able to use the middle scroll wheel to zoom right in and out of my model. Now it seems that it will not scroll right in and I can’t get close at all before the zoom seems to slow down to a stop. It only happens in perspective view.

Can anyone give me a clue as to why this is happening and how I can resolve it?

Many thanks.

SJ.

In File->User Preferences, Interface tab, make sure that Auto Depth is on. Zoom To Mouse Position is also a good option to have on.

Also, if your model very large, way bigger than the grid, zoom goes a little wonky.

You can also try selecting the mesh and hitting numpad-"." to reset the view onto that object.

3 Likes

Hi,

Thanks for both of your responses.

SkpFX… I tried settingAuto Depth to ‘On’ in the user preferences but it didn’t seem to have any effect. I already had it set to zoom to mouse position.

IkariShinji… Hitting the “.” helps to some extent but I must be doing something else wrong as my zooming seems to have a mind of it’s own.

I’m really struggling with this as it seems to change what it does and does not do randomly and I don’t understand what I’m doing wrong. I’m trying to follow tutorials in which the tutor zooms right in to selected vertices but when I try it sometimes works, it sometimes won’t zoom in (the numpad “.” key helps with this as you suggested) but then I get another issue which is that as I zoom closer to my selected vertices they begin to vanish from view as though I’m moving right past them. This happens while I’m still not as close to them as the tutor in the tutorial is to the ones he has selected. I just can’t seem to get close enough to work as accurately as the guy running the tutorial.

1 Like