Why does blender have two move tools?

I’m brand new to Blender 2.8 (coming from Maya, Modo). I’ve been playing with the interface and noticed that the ‘G’ key for ‘move’ is quite distinct from the ‘move’ button on the left. Both are called ‘move’ and said to have the same keyboard shortcut (G) yet the G key does not display the translation gizmos while the button does surface a translation gizmo. They seem like they are the same tool yet the button does something quite different than the keyboard shortcut…which strikes me as unexpected coming from other software. What’s the thinking on this?

Also is there a keyboard shortcut for the gizmo-move? I tried Alt-G or Shift-G but I was unable to find one. I know I can select it from shift + spacebar -> select move…but i’m wondering if there isn’t just a keyboard shortcut to display the gizmo that I’m missing.

The G key just activates the operator immediately, while the button activates one of the new active tools.

The active tools are meant as a sort of training wheels aimed at users coming from other software, but most old Blender users consider them too slow and unnecessary if only you’re willing to remember a few shortcuts. Hence, the two modes.

You can still activate the active tool with the keyboard by pressing Space, then G, I think.
Or you can adjust your keymap in the keymap editor to always use the active tools.

Gotcha. I do like the immediate ‘G’ key and the ability to constrain axes or planes of axes with some keystrokes…I think I’m probably slower with that because I am coming from other software. I feel like the best of both worlds would be to merge the active tool gizmo with the grab behavior. I wonder if there is a way to have the functionality of the ‘G’ key but with the gizmo attached. I’ll play with adjusting the keymap to taste. Thanks!