wierd IKspline deformation

this is my first time at setting up and IK spline. i was following a tutorial and this happened: http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/3969/iksplinestuffup3.png
By dragoncath at 2012-02-21

just so you know, it was a snake.
but this is what happened to the bones. these are the first bones in the chain:
http://img850.imageshack.us/img850/7403/iksplinestuffup.png
By dragoncath at 2012-02-21

i need a hand with this, as it is for an assignment at school and i chose to use blender to make it

Upload the .blend and I’ll take a look, the only thing I can tell from your screenshots is that it isn’t working…

Randy

here: http://www.pasteall.org/blend/11953

Ok, took a look at it and really I think the easiest way to fix it would be to start over. That’s not as bad as it sounds… here’s why: you have 162 bones in the spline IK chain and I’m not sure how you created them all (perhaps starting with one bone and subdividing it until you ended up with 162), but the naming of all those bones is a bit of a mess. Bone.096 parent is Bone.015, Bone.015 parent is Bone.097, etc, etc, so the naming isn’t logical - it isn’t like Bone.001 parent is Bone.002, Bone.002 parent is Bone.003 and so on. So trying to figure out the problem is confusing from the start. So that’s the first reason why I would start over.

The second reason why I would start over is you don’t need 162 bones. At the very most, you’d only need 65 bones. Your snake has 65 edge loops on it’s body and the mesh can only deform/bend where you have edge loops. So you have about 100 extra bones in there that really won’t be doing much of anything other than making it confusing. And really, I think it might work good enough if you only had maybe 40 bones.

It’s really not as bad or as much work as you might think (although some of it might be boring stupid work). I would do it in this manner:

• select the mesh and delete the armature modifier