Wild boar advice needed

Hi people, this is my first time texturing a model, hope someone could give criticism so I could improve. This is the third iteration of the model/texture and I can’t shake the amateur look away from my model.

http://i.imgur.com/diwirJQ.png
http://i.imgur.com/MVwQIwg.png

are u making it low poly??

Add a Sud-Division Modifier, values of 2 for view and render should suffice, then check the “Optimal Display” checkbox - it should render much smoother then - also click the “Smooth” button in the left menu (press T if you don’t have it on your screen).

Increase the lighting a little, its too dark to see what’s going on. Make sure you are using a Sun lamp with a small size - 0.01 for crips shadows, you can then rotate the sun so it lights the mesh from the correct side, its position, being a Sun, is not important. Are you using Cycles Render or Blender Render? - Cycles is much better IMHO.

Add a Displacement Modifier, with a “Clouds” texture and vary the “Strength” of this to get some skin irregularity. Create a new texture first with a “Clouds” type.

Beyond that consider UV mapping it to a Texture image to get some variable colour into the skin. Thereafter consider using the “Fur” particle system to get a realistic hairy covering.

Then post an image and I will look again!

Cheers, Clock.

@rishabh
Yes I am making it low poly.

@clockmender
This is low poly so I don’t really want to use subdiv but here you go, a w/ and w/o.

There is no lighting going on, I`m using the shadeless option over at the material section. As this is a game model, I do not really want to use cycles, etc to make it look better.
Is there any way to make it look better without changing the render settings and only changing the texture?
For now, I added a cloud overlay onto the texture and made the overall texture look brighter.