WIP: first model ever - Shark

Hi, I’ve been interested in 3d modelling and animation for a while now. I usually get started trying to learn it, and then get distracted with “life”. I was using 3DS max, but after much thought I have switched over to Blender. A. because I like to support open source software. B. Because I can’t afford a license for 3DS max currently C. I really like Blender now that I have used it some.

I’ve been messing about the past few days watching youtube tutorials and some from other sites. I’ve made a few things following tutorials. This is the first thing I have tried to do on my own without help.

Its not done yet, and I am not sure how to do the mouth/eyes just yet… but maybe you experts can tell me how I am doing for a complete beginner.

Nice modeling :slight_smile:
he is a pudgy shark.
maybe make his pectoral fins a little bigger

wow that’s really good for a first model :smiley:
my first was a rounded cube with a nice texture :cool: lol

I don’t know if this was intended but, it looks like the base of the tail is a little skinny
and the body a little wide :slight_smile:
but like i said, maybe you ment it that way?

and what method did you use to model it?

I used a side view reference image of a shark I found on google images.

I just kind of guessed on the “top” anatomy from looking at other top view pictures of other sharks.

I modelled the whole shark with a cube, using extrudes and added a subsurf modifier to smooth it out.

nice, nice :slight_smile:
I love the extrude+subsurfing combo
I’m assuming you havn’t smothed it out because your not finished with modelling it?

Ok, I did some more tweaking… because I agree with the “pudgy” comments…

hopefully this looks better… I also extended his fins, and top fin some after looking at some more reference pictures.

and here is another render, with setsmooth on

MUCH less pudgy :smiley: