Wow, where to start :D

Hi everyone,

I’m a two day noob (I hate being a noob at something :o ) using Blender and it’s the first time I’ve used a 3d program but here’s what I’m trying to achieve…

http://diegomonzon.deviantart.com/#/d3ada5g (the top left one)

In particular the shiny plastic and milled aluminium effect which creates those two triangles pointing towards the centre.

I’m nearly where I want to be with the modelling…

But I must have the lights set up wrong because it’s not looking anything like I would expect. I’ve tried everything I’m aware of (changing specular intensity, shader and slope) but they seem to make little difference.

I think I might be missing something fundamental.

Any ideas where to start?

Thanks

Lee

One way to achieve specific shininess like that would be to turn on mirroring in on the material and actually creating objects for the nob to reflect, play with mirror settings until you get something that looks right, damn I got to go do a few things, I’ll either explain in more detail or give you an example scene later.

Thanks proxe,

A little help goes a long way :wink:

Another method of imitating reflections is to use a reflection-mapped texture. This puts much less demand on the rendering engine compared to raytraced reflections, but is more of a fake effect.

There are a tons of ways to go about this, some can be very slow and others can be fast, but really its how well you implement the method that counts, you can get really convincing results if you use a high enough quality texture for reflection map, and you can get a really convincing result with mirror, but, like I said, the important part is in how you implement this, if your using a low res texture that doesn’t have much going on then you reflection will look horrible, likewise if you use mirror and there isn’t anything in you scene to reflect, well, you get the point.