Wrapping a Plane around a Sphere (not "join mesh")

Is there a way to decently wrap a plane object around a sphere.

To the basics:

If I create a plane and subdivide it - say - 12 times, can I wrap this plane around a UV sphere such that the vertices of the plane can - somewhat- overlap the curvature of the UV sphere?

What I want to achieve:

I am a beginner in Blender. At the moment, I have modeled North and South America as one entire mesh plane consisting of 613 vertices/477 faces (I know, it is a lot). Can I wrap this continents around a UV sphere to create a good half of planet Earth? The purpose of this, instead of mapping the image of Earth around a sphere, is so I can animate the land to my desire.

I made my question a little longer than it should be and I apologize. Nevertheless, thanks for helping me!

~ Darren

This brief tutorial on A Better Way to Unwrap a UVSphere for Planets might be useful to you. It uses a grid but it could just as easily be an existing subdivided plane.

I would look at using the retopo tool function to smack that mesh around the sphere - should work.
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Manual/Retopo

download cylindrical map for planet you want - Earth mars moon
from NASA or other place and then yu simply pam it to a spere
that’s been done before and very easy with cylindrical map

and voila finish

Salutations

Maybe you could use To Shere tool :slight_smile: (Mesh -> Transform -> To Sphere or simply Ctrl+Shift+S) - for more information of how to use that tool see the Manual.
Another tool that you might be interested is the Wrap tool :wink:

One problem that you could encounter is that your plane (with the continents) won’t be perfectly rounded to sphere if it doesn’t have a grid-like structure. But I can’t tell more before I could see the actual mesh.