Xubuntu 12.04 + Nvidia = problems

Hi all,
I’m having hard time setting up proprietary Nvidia drivers with a brand new Xubuntu installation.
I have an Asus N75 laptop with a GeForce GT 555M 2GB video card.
Beware, I’m a complete newbie of Linux.

1. Xubuntu’s Additional drivers program tells there are no drivers available; why, if they are available from Nvidia.com website?

2. I tried downloading the drivers from Nvidia.com, but the installation fails because X is running; how the hell am I supposed to launch the installation without a GUI?

3. I tried adding x-swat PPAs and updating, but after the installation I get this warning: “You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run nvidia-xconfig as root), and restart the X server.”

As a side note, I downloaded Blender from

None of the three packages executes and I get no error message whatsoever.

These are the things that makes me wonder whether Linux will ever be user-friendly… :frowning:

Yes. It is already.

However if you are a complete noob, I would suggest going with just regular Ubuntu and installing XFCE when you’ve got your system up and running. I believe most of the real newbie friendly stuff is in the regular version, and if you switch to xfce later it will basically end up the same any way.

Also, You’ll get much better advice from the Ubuntu forums with questions like this.

Regarding your side note, I’m running 12.04 and have no problems at all running builds from the sites you mentioned. Try running it from a terminal and tell us what it says.

Nvidia’s drivers are proprietary and cannot be bundled with Ubuntu, though there are usually alternatives available if the hardware is properly detected.

To install the proprietary drivers you must shut down the UI first. Since the drivers are responsible for running the graphicall interface this surely makes sense. You first stop the gui, install the driver, then restart the gui. Windows does this too.