1955 Mercedes Benz 300SL Gullwing Renders

My background is in photography and design/animation… mostly for feature films and games. I’ve been modelling 3D cars since 1995 using Maya, 3DS Max, Softimage, etc etc - and for the past few years in Blender. I started this model in response to some versions of the gullwing I saw that were fraught with inaccuracies and problems. It’s a VERY tricky car to model accurately. The gullwing can be one of the ultimate studies in industrial design, both artistic and mechanical. Creating the curves and surfaces of a car accurately is a challenge I enjoy. It takes a lot of specific attention to details and viewpoints to really get all the surfaces and curves to flow and balance exactly the way the original car is designed. I have gone over this car again and again to make adjustments and refinements. Its hard to know how much time this truly took, since the work on it is sporadic.

I’ve made cars for video games, and now I want to set up some photographic style fine art renders of specific vintage cars for print sales.

Oh and yes, the gullwing doors are fully rigged to open and close perfectly. I have a video of this on my Instagram.

Thanx very much for taking the time to look.

79 Likes

I featured you on BlenderNation, have a great weekend!

1 Like

Wow, amazing

1 Like

Thanx very much Bart! Appreciate you!

1 Like

Thanx very much! :smiley: :grinning:

Majestic :sparkles:

1 Like

Thank you Stefan!

1 Like

You’re on the featured row! :+1:

1 Like

You honor me sir! You are a rockstar! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts: :call_me_hand:

1 Like

There aren’t enough superlatives for this work (plus it looks kinda like the Incredimobile!). I’m desperately trying not to compare to things I’ve done, but just to add my feelings of inadequacy; would you mind telling us how long this took you?

2 Likes