3D Animation 'roughs' on my character Dorothy

¡Hello, Blenderfolks!

So, I’m a former 2D Animator; last year (2022) I’ve spent so much time trying to learn good Organic Rigging in Blender, I barely touched anything regarding the 3D Animation Technique —although I did get familiar with Posing, and started to get some insight into some of 3D Animation concepts inside Blender.

So, let’s see how fast those “3D Animation Roughs” will evolve. Hope you enjoy.

A very shy attempt on minimal motions

Getting jumpy with the Camera also

Same but with Frame Rate of 12 fps (Custom) if I’m not wrong

Ironically, meme: ‘me struggling with 3D Animation Technique’

Attempting some more slow-paced motion, like interacting… although still too fast I guess, controlling the Rig in synchrony in so many ways was getting to the point.

3 Likes

Rave mood.

In this rough, I finally was able to translate the 2D Traditional Animation Workflow into 3D Animation in Blender, as a personal proof of concept. Basically, (except for the Camera Motions and a few mistakes on suppressing the Interpolation on certain Key Framed Bones), I’ve set everything to ‘still’ Frames without Automatic Interpolation (so, Interpolation Mode: Constant); additionally to such input, I’ve also had made slightly operational the Onion Skin Addon (the free version), a feature that is endemic to the 2D Animation universe btw. None of those features are enabled by default in Blender, so this probably makes 3D Animation a lot more confusing than it needed to be.

1 Like

sw33t, I’m a total noob and love to see people who are enough advanced for me to learn from and not too advanced to spook me away from the infinite complexity of this trade

1 Like

¡Thank you! I think 3D Animation is really fascinating —even though I’m kinda new to it as well.