Ad Idea

I discovered Blender in Feb 2011 and have been hooked ever since. I mainly do 2d graphic design for a sign shop (I’m the main designer and manager). I am self taught through tutorials on U-Tube. My first animation is posted in focused critiques under “Rapper crits needed” that I did for my nephew.This time I am focusing on doing more serious work. I am working on an ad idea for my employer that will be done in a series to show all that the company does. I would appreciate constructive serious crits about the animation and ways to improve (not just vague remarks that don’t help). All models were done by me and textured using CorelDraw 15. Rendered in Blender ,took approx. 4 hours on my computer.

The grass in the background is too uniform. It could use some variation and more realistic color. BlenderGuru has a great tutorial on how to make good looking grass.
http://www.blenderguru.com/the-secret-to-creating-realistic-grass/

Here is an update with some changes to the lighting and some movements.

good start, but the animation needs work. when people talk, they have body language, their hands move, and so does their torso. In fact when talking to someone you’d be hard pressed to find a part of their body that isn’t moving ( even if the movement is little ). also the face needs movement, and emotion. try making the lighting focus more on the speaker. also the grass should slightly run onto the road ( grass is tough stuff ) and it should not be that green, but be a less neon shape with some yellower parts.the sky should be an image ( probably a cartoon one ). and i don’t like the way the road is just cut off at the end.

this is amazing though for someone new to blender.

I’d agree with 00dude00 on the animation. Overall it feels very stiff and under-developed, however for animation #2 that’s really not any major sort of criticism… Having said that, if you’re thinking of animating professionally I’d re-think the whole sequence.