Bezier Curve Trim Extend

Five years ago jimflim release two fantastic addons for CAD-like Trim and Extend operators with Bezier Curves.

Since it no longer seems to be actively maintained, and they are not working with 2.8+ versions, I took the liberty to combine them both into one single addon, and update them to run on Blender 2.82+.

I’m no coder, so I won’t pretend to know how this all works, the internals are mostly a mystery to me, but I can manage to do the trivial legwork. I sneaked in a few other adjustments here and there for modern conveniences like:

1. Adding entries to top menus
  2. Adding entries to curve right-click context menus
  3. I tried to fix a few shortcomings and easy to catch issues but it was just low hanging fruit, there are still lots of corner cases that throw ugly Python error messages.
  4. Add a few modern notifications to the status bar
  5. It now registers by default working keyboard shortcuts, T for Trim and Shift + E for Extend
  6. You can now trim and extend Poly type curves directly. Internally the algorithm still only knows how to work with Bezier curves, but I managed to make it do implicit conversion back and forth on the fly, restoring all you polys to their original type.

BezierCurve_TrimExtend

I updated for personal use but though you might like it as well.
Bezier Curve Trim Extend 2.0 2023 11 17
Addon_DPFR_BezierTrimExtend_2_00.py (23.4 KB)

24 Likes

One an half year… and only one 10 people liked it… como on man. this is awesome tool… a tiny yet most important tool for curve artists… specially for cad background artist.s

3 Likes

To celebrate the release of Blender 4.0 I decided to update my addons with a few minor improvements to mark the occasion. Bezier Curve Trim Extend 2.00 is now out

Bug fixes and improvements

• Made a few minor simplifications to the code here and there for more reliable operation