Animated Movie. Is it possible?

I am rather new to Blender. Been using it for about a year and a half. I was wondering how hard it would be to make an animated film about 30-45 minutes long. It wouldn’t have to be perfect. Also how hard would it be to do the mouth of the characters. How long would it take two guys to do this?

Making an imperfect 30 to 45 minute long film would be hard. Very hard. It would take you years.

Seriously: some animators have made decent 10 to 11 minute films over the course of a couple of semesters, while studying graphics and animation. So, you’re looking at the dedication of a serious college student studying and working for a degree, and call it maybe 8 to 10 semesters worth of work. If you squeeze three semesters into a calendar year, you’re looking at three years for a half hour to 45 minute film.

If you’ve been using Blender for 18 months and still consider yourself somewhat new at it, look to longer time frames.

Lip synch (moving the mouth along with the dialog sound track) isn’t any more (or less) difficult than modeling or rigging or texturing or lighting or animating. It’s just another thing to learn, and then do. It starts out hard and gets easier with practice.

Welcome to BlenderArtists. We’ll give you all the help we can with learning how Blender works. :eyebrowlift:

Just looking at the raw animation, assuming you already have rigged characters, the typical number thrown around is ~100 frames / week for one professional animator.

That’s about 20-30 seconds of animation a week.

That’s for “high quality” animation (realistic body movement / facial expression),etc. The lower the quality of animation, obviously the less time is required.

Add to that, time for building the character rigs, any buildings / sets, effects, lighting, rendering …etc, It all adds up.