Background/reference image looks blurry (viewport) - settings?

Hi. I am a beginner. I made a new scene and added a background/reference image (Add > Image > …) to use as a guide for modeling.
The problem is that the image looks a bit blurry (in the viewport).
I am using the same image in Autodesk Maya and it looks properly (viewport). But if i remember correctly (old project), i had to change several quality/filter settings in several different places to achieve that (now it is indistinguishable from the image being viewed through an image viewer).
What can i do to improve the quality in Blender? I have failed to find the appropriate settings.
Thank you.

If you had to make it look better in Maya…then you would have to use an exterior prog, like Gimp or Krita and just make it look better…then, when you import as reference in Blender it should look the same…even low resolution pix imported here look good, even though they will pixelize when enlarged and examined closely…the higher resolution, the better.

Hi, thank you.

• No, you misunderstood. I did not make the image look “better” in Maya. The changes i made in Maya was increasing the viewport quality settings, the image/texture quality settings and removing any kind of texture filtering. These are just quality settings for the viewport. The image is the same file and has not been edited in any way inside or outside Maya nor is it better or different than the source image. It just looks as it should and not how it would look with low quality settings.

• So, your suggestion would not work at all. The same image, at the same level of magnification looks blurry in Blender just as it did in Maya before i changed the quality settings. If the issue is the same (the quality/texture settings in Blender) then no matter how much i edit the image in an external program, it will still become blurry inside Blender.