Blender downside for animators

Coming from Maya a year ago and as an animator I wanted to tackle animation first thing, but I couldn’t find any decent free rigs maybe very little, this was a huge disappointment for me since in Maya you have this huge amount of character rigs given by the community for personal use and learning.
I don’t know what is the reason behind this for the Blender community but If there was a great pool of free character rigs it will attract a lot of animators to using Blender.

1 Like

There is a lot of free rigs for Blender. Not just rigs but whole animated open source movies. They are not included with the app but a single Google search is not that far away.

4 Likes

One possible “lesson learned” that Blender could take from Maya is to make the resources that do exist “much easier to find.” There should be an obvious “resources” link on blender.org that leads to [sites that are designed to offer …] a well-curated list of models and other resources. Try hard to establish this as “the ‘go-to place’” to find such things.

And, don’t simply include hyperlinks to “somebody’s web-site” that may or may not maintain the collection. Instead, much like Github and Sourceforge and SoundCloud and so forth now do, let individual contributors maintain them … there.

I said decent rigs, I know there is a lot but they don’t come close to decent, whether be it the modeling, the appeal or rigging.

look at this to understand what I am talking about:
AnimationBuffet.com
Highend3d.com

I started this thread so that people can understand how animators feel about this matter especially starters who want to learn and practice and cant afford the expensive software so they come to Blender but they have very limited options, so they go back to using mostly Maya.

1 Like