Blender for tinkering?

Hello, new Blender user and new on the boards. I’m wanting to use Blender for creative tinkering. I’m a long time CAD designer. Below is a project I completed about 10 years ago in plain AutoCAD. I have always worked in solids modeling programs so I’m a bit intimidated with meshes and NURBS, but my creative side wants to learn.

I have no goals set other than letting things flow naturally. I’m interested in more abstract modeling and rendering and especially interested in having a try at simple animations.

I hope my solid modeling skills can be transferred easily but after a week of tinkering I think it’ll be a longer process than I originally imagined. Looking to search the forums and begin asking questions soon.

I do have one question: any way Autodesk materials can be used in Blender? I’ve tried searching online and this forum and can’t dig up any answers.

-TZ

IMO a key to learning Blender is to find a nice graduated/gradated lesson course that will smoothly introduce concepts in a logical manner. While there are many MANY resources online for Blender sefl-education, my experience is that it is a bit of a hodge-podge, and much time is wasted and confusion generated by jumping around to all the various approaches. One would hope that one unified course would avoid that kind of thing.

One thing to beware of is The Great Divide, the changeover between 2.8n and previous versions of Blender. This can cause great confusion. Be alert to UI color changes that signal which version is in use, since not all presenters specify.

I would suggest you look into Grant Abbitt’s offerings on his website ( https://www.gabbitt.co.uk/ ) and YouTube.

1 Like