Blender Newb Inquisition

Hi guys. I am new to Blender, learning it in conjunction with Unreal Engine, a newb there too. Anyway I am studying blender documentation, and have taken one of those quick version tutorials, and have been researching, but some things are very easy to ask. :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: So if you are interested in helping would love to hear from you.

Question 1: Mesurements
My understanding is that the standard size in Blender is 1M. When I create a ā€œgridā€, I see that it is divided into 100 sections 10x10 (faces?) by vertices. Would this grid be 1 M or 10x10 M, I assume the latter.

Question 2: Girds on Grids
When I create a grid, it appears sitting on a much larger grid. Are these both called grids?
The first gird I made took up 4 squares on the larger grid it was sitting on. Yet it had 100 sections. That bottom grid, does this have a standard size and increment or is it totally fluid?

Question 3: More on Grids: As a standard practice, should a grid that you made be made to scale to the grid it sits on or no? Out of curiosity, can the the bottom grid or is it a scale (?) be made invisible?

Question 4: Snapping. Iā€™ve noticed using Shift S there ae different things to snap to, but is there a toggle snapping off and on? Iā€™ve not found that setting yet.

Thanks! I anticipate more to come.

The default is Blender units.

Question 2: Girds on Grids
When I create a grid, it appears sitting on a much larger grid. Are these both called grids?
[/quote]

A grid object is a 2D sub-divided plane. The other grid is imaginary and is there only to orient you to Blenderā€™s workspace.

Fluids are a completely different animal.

No.

Yes.

Yes. Itā€™s on the Overlays menu.

1 Like
  1. The smallest unit on the grid defaults to 1 meter, and thus the larger grid is 10m. If youā€™re intending on working between Unreal and Blender, then treat each big square as 1 meter, with the smaller subdivisions being 1cm (I think thatā€™ how it goes anyway.)