Blender procedural fruit shader(s)

I started learning Blender in the summer of '22. Here is a work-in-progress for a procedural fruit shader I started working in the fall of '22 before taking a 9+ month break from Blender and then picking it up again recently in the fall of '23.

When I opened the file I realized these still needed a bit of work so I set the versions back to “0.01” as a sort of starting point. I’ll be making updates periodically. The lighting is intentionally unforgiving. And I think the pears were the last thing I was working on before I put this file to rest… so they are less refined than some of the other fruit.

These are all based on roughly the same node setup… which is why I say “shader(s)”. And they all use the same mesh which is distorted using shapekeys… but I made a mistake using a quad sphere as a basis and this will eventually need to be remedied. The issue is that the geometry tends to be “squarish” in some places (ie. notice the tops near the stem are squarish in some instances?)

Oh, and the stems are still editable curves.

When I started this shader last fall it was just another exercise to familiarize myself with Blender and working with nodes.

Most of these variations were created using actual reference which I ate afterwards. But a couple were created using images from the Google since the fruit wasn’t available locally.

My history in 3D is mainly with modeling. So exploring materials is new to me, but I find the process kind of relaxing… but it’s easy to lose a lot of time to tweaking.

18 Likes

Incredible work, I’d love to see the nodes!

1 Like

These look really great.

1 Like

My node tree is crazy because I started this before I really knew Blender or was familiar with working with nodes. But I’ll hopefully clean it up at some point and maybe share it. Not sure.