Blender Tron Light Cycle game

Hi,
I haven`t posted here anything for a while.

This is a Tron Light Cycle game I am working on for a week or so.
Tron: Legacy premiere is on Dec 17th so I thought I should try my skills to remake this classic arcade game. Visual inspiration comes from the original Tron (1982) movie. You can watch the Light Cycle scene here in HD:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuALQcuaCTo

In few days of development I realized that scabootssca has already made a tron game
so I used it as a base for my game, though I changed and coded some stuff myself :smiley: and i am not a good coder. I will have to redo everything at some point anyways…

game does not have any textures (maybe except for text font) and no light sources. it has fake stencil shadows for the whole scene. i am trying to keep the framerate as high as possible (currently around 400fps in blender 2.49 in FullHD resolution). To add some eyecandy I put a fast and brand new light bloom shader.

I have to work a little more on some game mechanics and the game will be ready to go out for field testing.

some screenshots from work in progress game:

wip gameplay video:

blend is coming soon.

Attachments

1 Like

Welcome back Master Martinsh! Is good to see you work on a game, since you contributed so much for the community.
The game looks very clean and flashy so far (I’m a TRON’s fan as well) well, compared to the 1982 graphics…
Any ways, would like to see how it develops, and the blend later on of course!
Keep it up!

Finnaly THE GOD OF BLENDER is making a game…and maybe you will share that AMAZING bloom filter…but only if you want! anyway! NICE GRAPHICS.

very cool!

game does not have any textures (maybe except for text font) and no light sources.

:eek:

Very nice first impressions. :slight_smile:

Do you mind telling how you got the wireframe of the red structure in the background to show? I’m guessing it’s a custom shader?