Can repto in Blender even be self taught?

Please help, i am in repto hell. 20 hours now and tons of tutorials on reptology and i have not made any headway.

Have not seen any tutorial with the particular issues i have which are:

1, My Planes do not lay on top of my mesh they actually sink in a little bit, what is up with my shrink wrap?

ex:

This occurs all over my mesh and there is no way i can get a successful likeable low poly replica of my model like this. I follow the tutorials very methodically and not a mention of this. Can not seem to find others with a similar issue so super lost here.

2, Even with backface calling off i still see the back from the front which then renders my mesh invisible in the parts that are wrapped. Not helpful.

ex:

I think with at least my first issue solved i could actually pull off a successful repto! However i am at the mercy of you guys to help me out. This is the fist case in which googling is failing me.
Its really weird how i seem to be the only one with repto issues like this because in the youtube comments of the tuts i watch i don’t see anyone having problems like i am.

Heck i might give up to just focus on learning python instead, at this rate, i think that might be easier to learn.

Repto is killing animating for me.

Option 1: Go to flippednormals youtube page they have a short tutorial on retopo with vanilla blender. It is possible but you have to get some config right - some secret sauce.

Vanilla blender is not configured for easy retopo so:

Option 2: Buy an addon designed to make retopo easy.

Option 3: Use another application that does have good retopo out of the box: Maya, Modo or Topogun. In the 3D world one ring does not rule them all. Mixing packages is a good strategy.

Try Quad Remesher:

any recommendations for repto addons in blender?

Among the free ones, Retopoflow seems to be rather popular. I couldn’t really warm up to it, but well, try yourself whether you like it or not.

1 Like